Boys Varsity Golf · Info – Boys Golf Sectional


DATE: Monday, June 4, 2018

PLACE: Hawk’s Tail of Greenfield
145 Morristown Pike
Greenfield, IN 46140

HOST: Greenfield-Central High School

RULES: The USGA rules will be used except for IHSAA and local modifications. See the
IHSAA 2017-18 Spring Bulletin, Vol. 114, #3 for IHSAA modifications and the
enclosed local rules sheet.

ADVANCE: The top three teams and the top three individuals not on an advancing team shall
advance to the Regional to be played at THE PLAYERS CLUB on Thursday,
June 7th or Friday, June 8th. Please note that positions shall not be changed
after 12:00 p.m. on the day after the completion of each respective level of

FANS: Spectators are permitted on the course provided they adhere to the USGA rules
governing spectator conduct. Spectators and non-participants may not have
significant conversation with the participants and do not violate Rule 8 – Advice.
Comments must be limited to encouragement and congratulations. Spectators
should NOT give information on the Rules.

COACHES: During a stipulated round, one single identifiable coach from each team (pick up
coaching tag from Jared Manning upon check-in) may give advice to their
players at any time on the golf course except when the athlete’s golf ball is on the
green and the flagstick has initially been removed by someone in the group.
Coaches are not permitted on the green (exception – a rules question regarding
the maintenance of the green). The penalty for a coach giving advice in violation
of this rule would be a 2-stroke penalty per incident for the golfer. Rule
8-Advice in the Rules of Golf is in effect for all levels of the IHSAA tournament
golf series giving each team the authority to appoint one coach that may give
advice to members of that team. Additionally, coaches are outside agencies at all
times therefore there is no penalty if their cart or themselves are hit by a ball.

AWARDS: Ribbons will be presented to the actual three low medalists and to members of
the three advancing teams. A trophy will be given to the winning school.


11:15 – Josiah Moore

11:24 – Ethan Yoder

11:33 – Drew Cupp

11:42 – Nathan Ott

11:51 – Adam Ott